Friday, February 13, 2009

Away From The Cliche

We here at LTBN are probably not gonna be a part of getting Yuksek 'discovered' by anyone; he's been around since the re-emergence of french touch and has a volume of work that far precedes his popularity and the words on this post. However, his newest LP, released earlier this February, might make it a little difficult to pin Yuksek's sound down and might make it so that we discover him all over again. The album dangerously sits in ambivalence, as it dances between being a pop electro album reminiscent of Depeche Mode or a revisit of mid 90's Brit-techno a la Chemical Brothers or Basement Jaxx. Not a bad thing, but I didn't expect to like it too much. However, this album separates Yuksek from most of the producers in his scene and makes sense in a separation of the artist and the producer.

Tracklist :
01. Break Ya
02. Tonight
03. A Certain Life
04. Extraball featuring. Amanda Blank
05. Take A Ride
06. I Could Never Be A Dancer
07. So Far Away From The Sea featuring. The Bewitched (alt)
08. Little Dirty Trip (Vicarious Bliss Remix)
09. This Is Not Today featuring. Shit Disco
10. I Like To Play
11. So Down featuring. Chromeo (alt)
12. Freak O Rocker
13. Eat My Bear

GET IT HERE or at iTunes (UK or France Only)

No comments: